Raw Organic Shea Butter with Whipped Shea Lotion Recipe!

71dIzlQwq7L._SL1500_       71taZohd4NL._SL1500_

So excited to be on this review right now! I have wanted to try raw shea butter for SO LONG! SQUEAL!!! Beauty By Shea provided me with an excellent quality product to work with! It was exactly as I expected it to be, and then some! The packaging is simple, yet very pretty.

Just a little snippet from the company before I start:

16 oz (1lb) of Pure Organic Unrefined Raw Shea Butter from Beauty By Shea is made with extra care to ensure you receive the purest Raw Shea Butter. Beauty By Shea Organic Shea Butter is double filtered, first in Ghana, and then at our US Lab where it is manufactured into our 1lb bricks, packaged into our heat sealed bags, and sent straight to Amazon thereby preserving the natural richness, and purity of the shea butter for our customers.
Beauty By Shea 100% Ivory Organic Raw, Unrefined Shea Butter is imported directly from Ghana, and is 100% pure and natural, nothing else added!
Naturally rich in essential vitamins for beautiful skin, Beauty By Shea Organic Shea Butter will nourish your skin with Vitamins A, E, F & K. Use this Beauty By Shea Organic Raw Shea Butter daily and often for beautiful, moisturized, luminous skin.
Raw Organic Unrefined Shea Butter is perfect for topical use on skin and hair, and the perfect essential ingredient for homemade lotions, soaps, conditioners and more!

If you have never worked with raw shea butter before, this could be a scary thing to start doing.  It has a very interesting texture to it which can throw a lot of people off! NOT ME! I knew what to expect from raw shea butter. I couldn’t wait to try a new recipe I had found for whipped shea lotion!

The shea butter itself is quite hard – a lot of recipes using shea butter typically call for it to be melted down with a double boiler. I wanted something easy with no need for melting!

  • 4 oz. unrefined shea butter
  • 2 tablespoon base oil; for example extra virgin olive oil
  • 10-20 drops essential oil(s); optional, for example you can use lavender oil
  • mixing bowl
  • electric whisks mixer
  • one clean empty 8 oz. jar, or two 4 oz. jars, because volume will be increased

shea

The brick was easy to quarter in order to try this recipe. DO NOT MELT! It should be at room temperature. Place in a bowl and mash with a fork/or the beaters.  Add your base oils (I added my fragrance oil at the same time – and since I have worked with extra virgin olive oil in the past and know how it will work with my skin, that is what I used for my base. Coconut oil would probably be amazing to use with this too! Make it your own!) Mash them together a little more.

FUN PART – turn the mixer on and let it do it’s job! Approximately 5 minutes is all it takes to whip your ingredients into a smooth, creamy lotion! It is still very thick – but spreads onto your skin very smooth.  Can we say “HEAVEN for dry, cracked heels and elbows”? A little bit will go A LONG WAY! A VERY LONG WAY!

shea3      shea2

I strongly encourage you to give Beauty By Shea Raw Organic Shea Butter a try! Soon I plan to be more adventurous with it myself, but for now the no-melting recipe worked wonderfully!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LLPT4HI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

(The fragrance oils I have were purchased from another company that I adore – The Common Scents.  They have so many options to choose from and have always been extremely fast with their shipping! The scent I used for this lotion is Noa – and that bottle in the picture I have had for almost 4 years now! It has lasted through many, many, many, MANY jars of homemade sugar scrub being made!http://thecommonscents.com)

 
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

One thought on “Raw Organic Shea Butter with Whipped Shea Lotion Recipe!

Leave a comment